Posts Tagged ‘Ruptured Sessions’

Lebanese folk singer/songwriter Allen Seif, aka OAK, was the guest of Ruptures, for an interview and live performance showcasing his music career in Lebanon and Australia.
[Live sound by Fadi Tabbal]

Listen to Part 1: ruptures with Oak 22 Dec 2014 (part 1)
[Oak / Pink Floyd / U2 / OAK live performance / Neil Young]
— Live sound by Fadi Tabbal —

Listen to Part 2: ruptures with Oak 22 Dec 2014 (part 2)
[REM / Broken Bells / OAK live performance / Leonard Cohen / OAK live performance / Ron Sexsmith]
— Live sound by Fadi Tabbal —

For more on OAK:


iPhone Pictures 051

iPhone Pictures 052


Read Full Post »

Ziad Nawfal presents
CD release + live performances

Charbel Haber (featuring surprise guest)
Liliane Chlela


On Thursday 21 March 2013, starting 9pm
At Yukunkun, Rue du Liban, Gemmayzeh, Beirut



The Ruptured Sessions is a series of live recordings produced by Lebanese radio host Ziad Nawfal in the studios of Radio Lebanon. The sessions take place during Nawfal’s weekly program Ruptures, with musicians from Beirut’s alternative scene and elsewhere.

Volume 5 documents the city’s younger wave of electronic composers, and features performances from the likes of Jad Atoui, Liliane Chlela, Mocques and RadioKVM. Also included are recordings from American experimental musician Robert Lowe (in his Lichens guise); up-and-coming international projects Praed and Under The Carpet; as well as an exclusive duo of Lebanese guitarist extraordinaire Charbel Nicolas Haber and Canadian sound-maker Radwan Ghazi Moumneh.

The sessions for Volume 5 were recorded in Beirut by sound engineer and musician Fadi Tabbal; and subsequently mastered in Berlin by Belgian artist and producer C-drík, who also worked on Ruptured releases El Rass and Under The Carpet.



Audio 1 – Jad Atoui: Impulse

Audio 2 – Lichens: Swarmed



Read Full Post »






[All designs by Maya Chami]

Read Full Post »

>> The Incompetents‘ latest full-length CD, Of Minor Differences… And Narcissism, released in November 2012, is now available for sale in Lebanon at the following spots:
Beirut Art Center (Sin el Fil)
Dar Bookstore (Hamra)
Chico Video (Hamra)
Music Now (Hamra)

>> The following 2 CDs, which were released by the Berlin-based Syrphe label in the summer of 2012:
Infinite Moment Of Composure (Jawad Nawfal & Liliane Chlela): Turbulence
Tasjiil Moujahed (Munma & Kirdec): Self-titled
… are now available for sale in Lebanon at Beirut Art Center (Sin el Fil, 5 copies of each) and Music Now (Hamra, 5 copies of each)
Very nice artworks by Liliane Chlela and Maria Kassab, too!

>> There are only 10 copies remaining of the CD compilation The Ruptured Sessions volume 3, released in the summer of 2010, out of an initial run of 500.

This compilation features exclusive radio versions, recorded during the Ruptures program on Radio Lebanon 96.2FM, of tracks by Intensive Care (now Wake Island), Eileen Khatchadourian, Mashrou’ Leila, and others…

These last 10 copies are found at Beirut Art Center (Sin el Fil, 5 copies) and Music Now (Hamra, 5 copies)…
There will be no reprint — hurry up and get yours 🙂

Read Full Post »

Volume 4 of celebrated CD series The Ruptured Sessions brings together a selection of some of the finest performers in the world of contemporary electronica, including artists Discipline, Radwan Moumneh, Munma and OkyDoky from Lebanon, as well as internationally celebrated musicians Tashweesh (Palestine), C-drík (Belgium), and Enduser (USA). The sessions were mastered in Germany by C-drík, in his Berlin studio.

About the compilations:

‘The Ruptured Sessions’ is a series of live recordings curated by producer/promoter Ziad Nawfal, and taking place during his weekly ‘Ruptures’ program on Radio Lebanon 96.2FM. These recordings focus on musicians from Lebanon’s alternative music scenes (alternative folk & rock, electronica, improvisation, etc.), as well as visiting international musicians.



> Tashweesh: Untitled

> Discipline: Untitled sketch (for “Beyrouth”)



x Read Natalie Shooter’s review for NOW Lebanon (March 4, 2012):

“This week, local music mogul Ziad Nawfal, who hosts the Ruptures radio program, launched the fourth CD in a series of live session recordings. The Ruptured Sessions, Volume 4 is an experimental, electronic affair with seven different artists.

“Untitled Sketch,” by Discipline, is a gently contemplative minimalist piece. Tashweesh – an electronic multimedia project involving some former members of Palestinian hip hop crew Ramallah Underground – offers up a track of soulful hip hop […]. OkyDoky launches a synth-assault in the upbeat, electro-pop track “I am a robot.” Lebanese producer Ghazi Moumeh provides a glitchy slow-paced interlude with “Ya dam’ at al ‘ain.” C-Drik does high-pitched silence in “De vous je me détache,” a […] minimal track composed of occasional bell tolls and one long, drawn out cello note, that […] create a haunting atmosphere. Munma’s “Explorer + Soft integration” is dark brooding minimal tech. The final track from Enduser is the highlight of the album, incorporating a chaotic, bass-heavy jungle beat, samples of Tasmin Archer’s rather cheesy 90s hit “Sleeping Satellite,” and an oriental style dance-off with sweeping strings fighting against the grinding beat.”


[Design by Youmna Habbouche]

Read Full Post »

Monday 6 June 2011, Radio Lebanon 96.2FM (8-9pm)

1. Intensive Care (Ruptured session)
2. Intensive Care
3. White Trees
4. Zeid & The Wings
5. Fareeq el Atrash (Ruptured session)
6. Fareeq el Atrash
7. Lumi

Listen to Part 1: ruptures 6 june (part 1)

8. Eileen Khatchadourian (Ruptured session)
9. Sandmoon (Ruptured session)
10. Lazzy Lung
11. Shoot Shoot!
12. Lazzy Lung (Ruptured session)
13. Scrambled Eggs
14. White Trees (Ruptured session)
15. Mashrou’ Leila (Ruptured session)

Listen to Part 2: ruptures 6 June (part 2)

The record of the evening:

Read Full Post »

June 8th, 2011 will see the release of The Ruptured Sessions volume 3, a CD compilation of some of Beirut’s most talented pop, rock & funk musicians, with tracks recorded live in the studios of Radio Lebanon 96.2FM.

This compilation features exclusive tracks by:

Fareeq el Atrash
Intensive Care
Eileen Khatchadourian
Lazzy Lung
Mashrou’ Leila
White Trees



Audio 1: Eileen Khatchadourian: Sari Siroun Yar

Audio 2: Fareeq el Atrash: Min el Shere’ Bjawhara



x To read the Time Out review from July 2011, click on the following link: RS#3 TO July 2011


[Design by Youmna Habbouche]

Read Full Post »

Older Posts »